Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.


Pearson Teaching Awards

The Teaching Awards were established in 1999 by David, Lord Puttnam CBE, as a means of recognising and celebrating excellence in education.  The Awards honour outstanding teachers and teaching and highlight just how vital success in education is to the health and wealth of the UK.

Every day at the Pearson Teaching Awards Trust, they hear of exceptional teachers, lecturers, headteachers and teaching assistants who help students aim high and achieve their potential, often meeting and overcoming considerable challenges along the way. The Teaching Awards offers everyone the opportunity to say “thank you”, to the teacher who has helped them most.  Anyone can take part, children, students, parents, grandparents and colleagues can all go online and say thank you.  In return, Pearson send a thank you card to each and every person or team of people who is thanked. Every “thank you”, then becomes a nomination for a Teaching Award.

We have been hugely fortunate to have members of staff and teams who have been nominated and their achievements celebrated many times and we have even on 2 occasions been winners at the National Awards and appeared on BBC television programme of the national awards ceremony!

In  2016, Helena Carter was presented with the award of the Outstanding New Teacher of the Year at The Guildhall, London.


In 2012, Team Oxley won the UK School Team of the Year at the Victoria Palace Theatre, London.

Miss Keane was also a Regional winner in 2012.

Basic Skills Quality  Mark – 4 times awarded!

The Basic Skills Quality Mark is an award that celebrates and supports continuous improvement in literacy and numeracy.  A school or setting must demonstrate a whole school approach to improving standards in literacy and numeracy, with evidence of the impact of its approaches.

It is awarded to a school to celebrate their provision, practice and performance in literacy and numeracy, and is valid for three years.  OPA were awarded this for the 4th time in June 2016. Our most recent report is below.